Home

(Untitled)

 

II.

The Red Eye Poems

substitution for dreams

when I’m counting moons instead of sheep

my conversations with slain trees

whittled and polished into something worthy

of death and deprivation

there is no art without sacrifice

but my exhaustion is curable

it is the forests that fall

like domino soldiers

who deserve the accolades and appreciation

ironically written

on a slice of their lauded remains


 

IV.

I always answer

the call of the night

the subtle ring

drawing me out of the dungeon

away from artificial shade

into genuine shadow

feeding off of darkness

like warm blood

to a thawing vampire

I cannot decline the invitation

to wade through the rising tide

of dreams

while I forego my own

all in pursuit

of the single elusive answer

to the only unspoken question

worth whispering


V.

Could I sleep you off?

You stick to my brain

like a sweaty t-shirt

 

lust

is a one-sided conversation

spoken in perspiration

 

I swim in your waters now

hoping one day

you will plunge into my own


Bekah Steimel

Bekah Steimel is a poet aspiring to be a better poet. She lives in St. Louis, MO and can be found online at http://www.bekahsteimel.com and followed @BekahSteimel.

Leave a Reply

